This was an unexpected recipe. As a macaroni salad recipe, it came to me via Martha Stewart. And yet when I made it, I was reminded of nothing so much as that fabulous Graeco-Mediterranean condiment, tzatziki. So I’m not calling this Martha’s Macaroni Salad; I’m calling this Eleusinian Macaroni Tzatziki.

1 c. (4 oz.) elbow macaroni
1/4 c. light mayonnaise
1/4 c. light sour cream
1 cucumber, peeled, seeded, and finely chopped
1/4 c. fresh chopped dill
2 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
salt and pepper to taste

In boiling, lightly salted water, cook the elbow macaroni to package directions.

Meanwhile, mix the mayonnaise, sour cream, finely chopped cucumber, lemon juice, and dill in a separate, medium-sized bowl.

Drain the pasta and rinse in cold running water; drain excess water and add pasta to the cucumber-mayo mixture. Mix up thoroughly. Season with salt and pepper to taste; toss to combine. Cover and refrigerate up to one day in advance.

Next time I think I might use half the recommended lemon juice, as I felt it made this salad just too “bright.” The sour cream does that enough. I wonder if you could substitute thick Greek yogurt for the sour cream entirely? It might be less sour and more creamy if you did so (and more authentic!). Next time I might also add some halved cherry tomatoes for a splash of color and another taste dimension; you could also add goat or feta or blue cheese, or sliced black olives to dress it up.

Grill up lamb kebabs seasoned only with sea salt, and enjoy this summer side dish to the tune of bazoukia and auloi.

