Unfortunately, my local grocery store is unenlightened and does not sell sole, filets or otherwise. I had to ask the seafood person what type of fish could be substituted that had a similar taste and texture, and they suggested flounder. So I’m having to use flounder where Nigella recommends lemon sole. I need to find a better seafood counter.

This was my first time using both panko bread crumbs and grapeseed oil and frying anything, so this was a brand-new adventure. Grapeseed oil has a higher smoke point than either vegetable or olive oils, so I decided to invest in a bottle and do this the right way. We love fish & chips and if I can find a good, healthy way to make our own, we’re all better off! Also, Ina Garten has a recipe for authentic fried fish I’d love to build the confidence to try it. So grapeseed oil it is. It heated cleanly and had what I can only call an “efficient” bubble.

The combination of corn starch, egg, and panko bread crumbs was like cement on my fingers, so after dredging and breading each goujon I had to rinse my fingers under some running water.

From Nigella Express.

For the goujons:
2 filets of lemon sole (we used flounder)
corn starch
2 eggs
panko bread crumbs
salt and pepper

For the dill mayo:
1 cup mayonnaise
lime juice
chopped dill

 

In 3 separate bowls, place the corn starch, the 2 eggs, slightly beaten, and the panko. Cut each filet in half, then diagonally in to quarters; you should get 8 roughly-the-same-sized pieces of fish out of each filet. Dredge each goujon in corn starch, then the beaten eggs, then the panko. Place on a cooling rack to rest while you finish dredging the rest of the goujons.

Heat about 1 cup of grapeseed or peanut oil in a skillet (use more or less oil as necessary for the size of your pan). When the oil is hot (I tested the oil by tossing a few panko crumbs in and seeing whether they sizzled or sank), carefully place the breaded goujons in the pan. Be careful not to overcrowd, work in batches as necessary. Using my fairly large skillet I still had to due two batches. Cook each goujons about 2 minutes per side, and keep an eye on them to be sure you don’t overbrown them. They should be ready to flip when the underside is a nice golden brown with a crisp. When the goujons are done, transfer to a plate covered in paper towel to drain and cool a little.

Mix the mayo, lime juice, and dill together as a dip for the goujons. Enjoy while they’re still hot!

