I must take a moment to tell you all about a wonderful company, Annie’s Homegrown, makers of Bernie O’s and Cheddar Bunnies. I discovered the company shortly after I moved to Massachusetts and discovered that organic and natural foods were available in run-of-the-mill grocery stores (I came from Nevada, where such is unheard of). I was a freshman in college and on my own for the first time in my life, and I was feeling really, really down. And that’s when I discovered Annie’s Bunny Pasta with Yummy Cheese, a bowlfull of macaroni bunnies in a white cheese sauce. That evening I was sitting on my futon couch with autumn sunshine streaming in the window, looking down at a bowfull of pasta bunnies. And suddenly, everything started looking up. Bunny pasta made the world a happier place.

Well, it went something like that.

Then I discovered Annie’s larger bunny-themed lines: cereals, savory crackers, graham crackers, and canned pastas. All the products are natural or organic, and tasty. You might be inclined to think of organic or natural foods as bland or cardboardy, but quite the opposite is true of Annie’s. The savory bunny crackers are positively bursting with flavor. I like to turn a bowl of bunny grahams in to cereal (chocolate works best), and then I discovered that Annie’s also has bunny cereal: Bunny Love, Honey Bunnies, Cinna Bunnies, Fruity Bunnies, and Choco-Vanilla Bunnies. They are lightly sweetened and slightly reminiscent of Honey Nut Cheerios in both texture and flavor. I have not had a chance to try the Fruity or Choco-Vanilla Bunnies, though they are next on my list.

The two Annie’s products I buy most often are two of their canned pasta meals, Bernie O’s and P’sghetti Loops. Bernie O’s are bunny-shaped pastas and pasta loops in cheesy tomato sauce, all-organic and vegetarian. They can be easily heated in a sauce pan on the stove or in the microwave. P’sghetti Loops are pasta loops and soy meatballs, also in cheesy tomato sauce. Now, don’t flinch at the thought of soy meatballs — I absolutely love them. As a lunch option they are easy and filling and, honestly, fun. When I am stressed I can go a whole day and eat nothing but bunnies. And that cheers me up.

