I came across this recipe at the Mail Online’s website while I was looking for a definition of old-school Marie Rose sauce, and while I found a plethora of family-by-family variations — apparently this sauce is a staple of English cuisine! — this recipe had the fewest ingredients, all of which I have around the kitchen every day. Plus, Jamie Oliver conveniently gave me another recipe, for prawns, with which to eat the Marie Rose sauce.

Prawns with an Old-School Marie Rose Sauce
Serves 2 

For the prawns
plain flour
220g/8 oz king prawns, peeled and ready to eat*
olive oil
2 cloves of garlic
1 heaped tsp paprika
extra virgin olive oil

For the Marie Rose sauce
4 Tbsp. mayonnaise
1 Tbsp. tomato ketchup
1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce
1 tsp. whisky**
1 lemon
Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper***

*I can’t seem to get prawns in southeastern Massachusetts; jumbo shrimp works just fine.
**At this time, I used Jameson’s.
***I also added a dash of paprika. 
 

Put a handful or two of flour into a bowl. Drop your prawns into the bowl of flour and toss until they’re completely coated.

To make your sauce, put your mayonnaise into a bowl with the ketchup, a small splash of Worcestershire sauce and the booze. Halve the lemon and squeeze in the juice from one of the halves. Cut the remaining half into wedges for serving. Add a pinch of salt and pepper and mix well. Give it a taste and add a touch more salt, pepper and lemon juice if you think it needs it.

Get yourself a large pan and place it on a high heat. When the pan is hot, pour in 2 good lugs of olive oil. Bash and break up your garlic cloves with your hand and add these to the pan, immediately followed by your flour-dusted prawns. Toss them well to coat them in the hot oil. Count to ten, then add a pinch of salt and pepper, and the paprika for flavour and colour. Keep tossing your prawns, trying to keep them in a single layer in the pan, so they cook evenly, for about 3-4 minutes, until crisp and golden.

IMG00284
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

photo by Rachel

I didn’t make the avocado salad Jamie recommends, I just got some mixed spring greens and drizzled over the last drops of balsamic vinaigrette. I paired the dish with an Australian chardonnay and enjoyed my night in!

