TGIFriday’s
Braintree, MA

Pick Three appetizer
boneless Buffalo wings, crispy green bean fries, and breaded mozzarella sticks
BBQ Chicken Chopped Salad
Chicken Parmesan Sliders
Two breaded chicken sliders on Ciabatta bread topped with Provolone cheese and marinara sauce. 
Jack Championship BBQ Chicken & Shrimp Combo
Classic Sirloin

We decided to do the Pick Three appetizer, because I wanted Crispy Green Bean Fries and this makes me a weirdo in my family. The men split the boneless Buffalo wings (a tiny bite I sampled was WAY TOO hot for me), while I kept to the CGBF and Mum kept to the mozzarella sticks, which were hot and gooey without being too hot or too gooey.

I didn’t get a crack at Jim’s shrimp, which apparently were wrapped in bacon and slathered with JD BBQ sauce. I’m not sure how I feel about shrimp wrapped in bacon, I sort of feel like that is the purview of the scallop. But the chicken, half of which came home as a leftover, was good, if it somehow gave off the impression that it was industrialized. Maybe it was the perfectly cross-hatched grill marks that gave it away. But the light coating of JD BBQ sauce was sweet, not too strong. And the cheese mashed potatoes were delightfully cheesy.

Mum’s Chicken Parm Sliders looked good, with a little bit of salad in a side dish. I might give a thought to ordering that next time. Chicken parm always sounds good to me, until I get to the restaurant and start reading the menu and I find something more tantalizing. I ordered the same BBQ Chicken Chopped Salad I ordered on an early trip to TGIFriday’s, in Stoughton, and it was just as good if lighter on the extras, like the now-famous jicama. It had just the right amount of dressing and BBQ sauce, which goes a long way toward making a good dinner salad. Too much is overpowers the flavors of the greens and the protein and makes a soggy salad, too little can’t bring the salad together in to a whole and the greens and protein are too dry.

Dad’s steak must have been good, as he did not remark over it and he didn’t bring any home as a leftover.

