I found this recipe somewhere on the web when I was looking for easy slow-cooker recipes. I like shrimp and I’ve been dying to try something called “creole” (whether or not it is strictly authentic; baby steps!).

Shrimp Creole
3 c. total of diced celery, chopped onion, and chopped bell pepper (in any proportion, I stuck as close to 1/3 as I could)
8 oz can plain tomato sauce
28 oz can whole (plum) tomatoes
1 Tbsp minced garlic
1 tsp salt
1/4 tsp black pepper
2 tsp hot sauce
1-2 lbs raw shrimp cleaned and shelled

Everything in to the slow cooker except the shrimp. Cook 3-4 hours on high or 6-8 hours on low. Add shrimp during the last half hour of cooking.

Because we were starting late in the day, we decided to do the 3-4 hours cooking on high. Most of the vegetables were still very crisp, which I think would have been solved by the lower, slower cooking time. It does have heat but not escalating heat — a steady heat, which is the type of heat I prefer. And the heat lingers in the mouth. I suppose you could adjust this by using a hotter hot sauce, or more hot sauce; I used regular Tabasco sauce, 2 teaspoons only, because we are not fans of really really hot spicy food. The shrimp cooked perfectly in the last half hour, and could have sat a bit longer, but they were plump and fresh. This is the first time I’ve ever used raw shrimp (I bought frozen, deveined, EZ-peel shrimp, and Jim did the peeling. Shrimp legs freak me out) and I am gratified by the results. It is a good change for us, dependent as we are on chicken and steak and hamburger for our proteins, and I’ve been wanting more seafood and fish but it’s so hard to know how to prepare it. We think this could be doubled in your standard slow cooker, but with less liquid; maybe leave out the 8 ounce can of plain tomato sauce, and keep a closer eye on your liquid levels throughout the cooking time? The amount of liquid did increase during cooking.

An easy, filling, one-pot meal. Well, plus the rice in the rice cooker. It earns a stamp of approval from us.

