Quesadillas
OK, this is crazy easy. Large tortilla; spray each side with a bit of butter spray; heat in a heavy skillet on low-medium heat. The first one I made I let brown too long before assembling, and it turned out a little too crispy for me. If you like really crispy quesadillas, go for it. The second and third I made with a dozen seconds on one side, flip, assemble, fold, and keep flipping til the cheese is melted and the outside is the way you like it. These turned out much, much softer and more to our liking. I made two cheese & chicken quesadillas (using pre-cooked, pre-sliced, packaged chicken from the refrigerated deli case) and one that was just cheese.

It turns out I am in love with SimplyRecipes.com. Elise’s excellent recipes are well and clearly written, and so far, incredibly tasty. And her “How to Cut and Peel an Avocado” link is INCREDIBLY useful. Her instructions make me feel confident enough to tackle a new vegetable and a new recipe all in one go.

Perfect Guacamole 
serves 2-4
 2 ripe avocados*
1/2 red onion
1-2 serrano chiles, stems and seeds removed, minced
2 tablespoons cilantro, finely chopped**
1 Tbsp lime or lemon juice
1/2 tsp coarse salt
dash freshly grated black pepper
1/2 ripe tomato, seeds and pulp removed, chopped***

*My grocery store’s avos weren’t Haas, they were Mission and unbelievably small, so I got 4 of the smaller-ish ones.
**Cilantro is not used in my house, because my husband and I are both these people. Cilantro is vile & tastes like soap to us, ruining everything it touches. As it turns out, that means there’s a protein, or scent receptor, in our noses that doesn’t work.
***I used one whole plum tomato, seeds and pulp removed, which I always do to tomato anyway.

1. Cut avocados in half. Remove seed. Scoop out avacado from the peel, put in a mixing bowl. (See How to Cut and Peel an Avocado.)

2. Using a fork, mash the avocado. (NB: I used a potato masher!) Add the chopped onion, cilantro, lime or lemon, salt and pepper and mash some more. Chili peppers vary individually in their hotness. So, start with a half of one chili pepper and add to the guacamole to your desired degree of hotness. Be careful handling the peppers; wash your hands thoroughly after handling and do not touch your eyes or the area near your eyes with your hands for several hours. Keep the tomatoes separate until ready to serve.

Remember that much of this is done to taste because of the variability in the fresh ingredients. Start with this recipe and adjust to your taste.

Cover with plastic wrap directly on the surface of the guacamole to prevent oxidation from the air reaching it. Refrigerate until ready. Just before serving, add the chopped tomato to the guacamole and mix.

I also added a 1/2 tsp of minced garlic from a jar (I have gotten so sick of constantly mincing garlic!) and a couple generous splashes of orange juice. I think I picked that up from the commenters on SimplyRecipes. Also, toss the avocado seeds back in the guacamole, it apparently helps retard the oxidation process and staves off the guacamole turning icky slimy brown.

This recipe yields LOTS of guacamole! I think I could get 4-6 or possibly 8 servings from this recipe, depending on how hungry my guests were. With the quesadillas and some sour cream, a very filling meal.

