This recipe comes from Orangette, via Janice, with Meghan’s recommendations. In other words, this salad has an impressive pedigree.

 

Chickpea Salad with Lemon & Parmesan

1 15-ounce can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
1 tsp fresh lemon juice
1 1/2 tsp olive oil
a pinch of salt
1/4 cup loosely packed shredded Parmigiano Reggiano

Combine all ingredients in a bowl, and stir gently to mix. Taste, and adjust seasoning as necessary. Serve immediately, or chill, covered, until serving.

 

Bad news. Though he’s been eating them intermittently for the last few years and has never raised a fuss before, today Jim all of a sudden doesn’t like chickpeas. *facepalm*

I feel like this salad needs a little more zing. Next time I make it (apparently all for myself) I’m going to use orange juice instead of lemon juice, some orange zest, and something else for additional punch…not sure what that is yet but it will come to me. There may be a spice I’m missing. The Parmesan has a very strong flavour, and the chickpeas can do little to stand up to it.

