iGoogle has a Simply Recipes widget, and one day this recipe for Quick & Easy White Bean Salad turned up. Beans are excellently healthy but difficult to incorporate in to the diet, if they aren’t already a staple. This recipe really is quick and easy, and the hardest part for me was leaving it overnight in the fridge to stew in its own flavours.

Quick and Easy White Bean Salad
1 can white beans, drained AND RINSED*
2 Tbsp chopped red onion
lemon juice
2 tsp wine vinegar, red or white**
1 Tbsp olive oil
1/2 tsp dry herbes de provence
salt & pepper

*I know the website says not to rinse the beans, but like one of the site’s commenters, I find there is much less gastrointestinal distress and WEIRD BEAN GUNK with even slightly rinsed beans. So I drained the beans still in the can, refilled the can with water, swirled and drained and repeated.
**I used Chianti red wine vinegar from Ponti. When wine vinegar is going to be taking a starring role, I always prefer red (or balsamic if in a vinaigrette dressing, but I digress).

Take the 2 Tbsp chopped red onion and put that in a little glass prep bowl with some lemon juice. It really does tone down the intensity of the onion, and oh my but raw red onions can be really intense. I did this first, before I opened and rinsed the beans, to let it sit for a while. Then dump everything in a bowl, stir it up, and put it in the fridge.

Very good served cold for next day’s lunch, and I wish I had a fresh, warm crusty French baguette on hand too to soak up the oil, vinegar, and herbes swirling around in the bottom of my bowl. Lemony, vinegary, herby de provence-y. I didn’t even bother with the salt and pepper, since I feel that is to each person’s tastes, but with the delicate herbes de provence I wouldn’t dare add more than a wee pinch of salt to play up the flavours, and no more.

This recipe’s yield is very modest, so next time we’re going to double or triple it to get more than one meal for two people out of it.

