This recipe was brought to my attention by Meghan, who found it online here. Not ever one to follow the recipe, I changed it a little to suit my and Jim’s tastes, and proceeded as follows:

Chicken breasts, halved in thickness, then pounded flat with a meat hammer
No green chiles (although I actually have some in the fridge, leftover from the Spicy Artichoke Dip)
REAL bacon (though admittedly low-sodium bacon) instead of bacon bits*

Pound chicken thin and flat, season with pepper, and cook up in large skillet on the stovetop; I did up the bacon in a small skillet on another burner while the chicken was cooking. When cooked through, remove chicken to a baking sheet. Now here’s where I diverged a little from the recipe: the recipe says to put the barbeque sauce down at this stage, and I meant to, but I was a little distracted by frying up the bacon that I skipped the step. I rectified it later, no worries. What I did do was put a half a slice of bacon on each piece of chicken, two half slices of bacon for the larger pieces. Top with petite diced tomatoes minus the green chiles, and by “top” I mean mound the silly things over; I used almost the whole 14-ounce can. Cover with a generous bit of cheese (I used fancy-shredded store-brand Mexican four cheese mix [Monterey Jack, Cheddar, Queso Quesadilla, and Asadero]) and put in a 400 degree oven to melt the cheese, about 5 minutes.

This was the point at which I realized I had completely forgotten the barbeque sauce. Nobody panic! When it was time to serve, I just drizzled the BBQ sauce down and gave it a quick zap in the microwave to help bring it up to temperature.

Easy, fast, and Jim loves it. Definitely a new menu staple!

 

*I realize that the recipe probably uses bacon bits because they impart bacon flavor but are probably easier on the points than real bacon. I’m not particularly worried, and I much prefer real food to processed food product. I am not a huge fan of the bacon bit flavor, and even though DH actually likes bacon bits and wouldn’t have minded my using them in this recipe, he also will never say no to actual bacon, and now we’ve got something with which to make BLTs.

