Red Robin Gourmet Burgers
Patriot Place
Foxboro, MA

Banzai Burger
Marinated in teriyaki & topped with grilled pineapple, Cheddar cheese, lettuce, tomatoes and mayo. Dude, you’ll be like, ready to ride the pipeline on O’ahu’s North Shore after you chomp on this!
A1 Peppercorn Burger
Sizzling, hickory-smoked bacon, melted Pepper-Jack cheese, A.1.® peppercorn spread, crispy onion straws, onions and tomatoes on an onion bun. It’s a taste explosion! 

If you are a member of their eClub, you receive a coupon for a free gourmet burger on your birthday. Yesterday was my birthday, so we decided a trip to the new Patriot Place was in order. It was very quiet, being A) the off-season, B) a Wednesday night, and C) cold. DH had never been to a Red Robin and I had only been once.

We both order our burgers without tomatoes, but we have different reasons. I find that tomatoes make burgers messier and drippier, DH just doesn’t like tomatoes. I also added a thick slice of onion to mine, which added crispy crunch and strong onion flavour. The pineapple was grilled to perfection, being sweet and melt-in-your-mouth. And the mayo was a nice twist to the teriyaki & pineapple burgers you often find at other restaurants. I was highly pleased.

DH says the seasonings on his A1 Peppercorn Burger were well-mixed and well-balanced to make a burger with bite. The one small taste I had was tangy with thickened A1 steak sauce, with tender, not burnt-to-a-crisp bacon. Crispy onion straws are just delicate little onion rings, which soaked up the neighboring layer of tangy, salty sauce and counterbalanced it with their subtle sweetness.

The hamburger part of both our burgers were perfectly well done to our request, juicy, and generously sized. My usual complaint is that gourmet burgers loaded with toppings are often messy, and the waxed paper envelope my burger arrived in helped to keep the hot juices from scalding my hands. At the end of the sandwich there was a melty cheese and teriyaki sauce mixture in the bottom of my envelope just begging to be snacked on. It made me think that melted cheese and teriyaki would make an excellent topping for potato skins or cheese fries.

Speaking of which, the chain’s well-known steak fries were piping hot and ready to be seasoned to taste with the house blend of spices. DH bought a 16-ounce jar for $3, and I think it will be a particularly nice blend to accent hamburgers and baked potatoes. I found out, on the phone with my sister-in-law on the drive home, that my brother-in-law puts the spice blend on anything that holds still long enough, and they just replaced their jar last week.

It was even nice that our incredibly excellent server didn’t make a big deal about it being my birthday. He sang one line of the Happy Birthday song very quietly and with minimal gesturing, which I told him was just the right amount of celebration I required. He said he can usually tell who wants a big fuss and who doesn’t.

On a side note, on the same evening my parents also visited their local Red Robin, at the Centennial shopping center in northwest Las Vegas. My dad’s birthday is four days after mine on the calendar, so he too had a birthday coupon, so they “dined with us in spirit”. Earlier in the week he recommended the Chili Chili Cheeseburger if one were inclined toward chili, the sandwich served open-faced to acknowledge that this burger would never be neat to eat with two hands, and a knife and fork are recommended. But on this occasion he went with the Whisky River Barbeque burger. And my mum ordered her usual, the Gourmet Cheeseburger.

